RSS Feed

The Vacation is Over

It’s been a crazy summer.  Between wedding planning, the actual big day, a two week honeymoon, and other weekend getaways, exercising took a back seat.  It was all fun while it lasted, but I’m left feeling a bit… well, tubby.  For the past two weeks, I have been slowly weeding out the junk food (which for some reason ALWAYS goes hand in hand with lack of exercise) and replacing it with nutritious home made meals.   Hours spent watching Law and Order marathons are being replaced with cardio and strength training.  I remember LOVING the feeling of a good workout, so why does it seem so hard now?  I forgot how long it takes to get back into the swing of things after a break.  I’m just gonna have to deal, because the break’s over.  Labor Day is behind us.  Kids are back to school.  And my ass is back at the gym.

Today started bright and early… or just early (it’s a torrential downpour out there… no brightness to be seen).  The alarm startled me awake at 5:10 a.m.  I stumbled out of bed and before I even flicked the light switch, I threw on the clothes I had left out the morning before (<– this is KEY if I want to get to class on time).  Want some advice?  Don’t get dressed in the dark – I’ll explain shortly.  Off I go into the rain for the 5:45 a.m. “Cycle Fusion” class.  It’s pretty much just spin with ten minutes of arm weights at the end.  Perfect!  I was afraid we’d be doing arm weights WHILE spinning – I didn’t see my clumsy ass handling that too well.60 minutes later, I’m heading back home to shower and dress quickly for work.  I strip off my sweat drenched spandex pants (hawt!) to find a dead, crumpled spider stuck to my thigh.  I repeat, NEVER get dressed in the dark.   I die just thinking about this.  I’ll follow up that story with some EATS.

Breakfast this morning was an old standby.  1/2 C of oats, 1 T of peanut butter, 1t maple syrup.  I switch up the nut better every couple of weeks and it never gets old.

And my packed lunch to bring to work:

Salad [baby romaine, arugula, cucumbers, pomegranate craisins (which probably have no actual pomegranate in them), pecans and cilantro], a pear for a.m. snack, and cottage cheese for p.m. snack.  This is all assuming my dad doesn’t call me to meet at the Dogfather for lunch.  We had made plans to try these gourmet hot dogs before summer’s end, when the hot dog truck closes up shop.  I KNOW I said I was eating clean, but I can’t let my dad down, right?  Plus, their motto is “I’ll give you a hot dog you can’t refuse”.  He’s totally right – I CANNOT REFUSE IT!  And I’m also aware that hot dogs are pretty much the lips and eyeballs of various animals wrapped in pork casing.  GROSS… but totally delicious.

I think I’ll end things on that note.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

